Phoenix P-12 Community College operates under, and adheres to, the democratic principles of Australian and Victorian law.

Our commitment is to model in learning, teaching, organisation, practices and governance the requirements under which government schools are registered. As such, a duly elected School Council provides community voice and accountability to ensure all aspects school operations remain focused on the student. School Council ensures that inclusive practices and policies guide school decision making.

The College encourages parent participation in a range of activities and provides many opportunities for parents to be involved. The College Council consists of fifteen representatives including the College Principal and Business Manager. There are seven elected parent members and four Department of Education and Training (DET) employees. The College Council is the governing body that determines, within guidelines issued by DET, the general education policy of the College; management of the College finances; maintenance and development of buildings, grounds and equipment. Much of the College Council’s work is organised through a range of sub-committees.

The School Annual Implementation Plan can be found on the College Website. The annual meeting of the College Council is held in March each year where the annual report is tabled and elections are held to fill vacancies.

Our College School Council President, Jarrod Page, was returned as President in March 2021.

College Council Meeting Dates 2021 (2022 Dates TBA)

The Council meets on the fourth Monday in the month – 6:00pm (for 6:15pm start):

  • 22nd February
  • 22nd March
  • 26th April
  • 24th May
  • 28th June
  • 26th July
  • 23rd August
  • 13th September
  • 25th October
  • 22nd November
  • 6th December

College Council Members List 2021

Principal Class: Karen Snibson  
DET = 4 Term
Angela Quinn 2 Years – End 2022
Michael Benoit 2 Years – End 2021
Luke Wolf 2 Years – End 2022
Sofia Aleem 2 Years – End 2021
Parent = 5  
Rosslyn Lonie 2 Years – End 2022
Jarrod Page 2 Years – End 2022
Brett Page 2 Years – End 2021
Cherie Brown 2 Years – End 2022
Aileen Shearer-Cox 2 Years – End 2021
Vacancy (2020) 2 Years – End 2022
Community Membership = 2  
Leslee Jackson 2 Years – End 2021
Joanne Geurts 2 Years – End 2021
Vacancy (2020) 1 Year – End 2021
Student Leaders  
Jordynn Lonie 1 Year – End 2020
Kirby Lee 1 Year – End 2020
Lorraine Hayes Attendee – Minute Taker

Sub-Committee Members

(Sub-Committees meet monthly)

Finance: Rosslyn Lonie (Chair)
5:30pm – 6:00pm Lorraine Hayes
Prior to Council Meeting Karen Snibson (Principal)
  Jarrod Page
  Joanne Guerts
College Policy and Development: Angela Quinn (Chair)
5.30 pm – 6.00pm Brett Page
(Lorraine Hayes – copied in) Cherie Brown
  Sofia Aleem
  Luke Woolfe
  Aileen Shearer-Cox
  Jordynn Lonie / Kirby Lee
Facilities: Michael Benoit (Chair)
– Facilities flexible Lorraine Hayes
– Meetings to be called by Chair Jarrod Page
  Karen Snibson (Principal)
  Joanne Guerts
  OHS –
  Michael Benoit
  Lorraine Hayes
  Karen Jolly
  Jamie Lawlor
  Oliver Scott

To contact the College Council please email: